About Us



Everybody who has been involved with the BEST Education Network has had a valuable impact on its development and is considered a friend. We would like to highlight and thank particularly:

All Think Tank participants, who have contributed to the network and its development, and the creation and dissemination of knowledge on sustainable tourism: Think Tank I participants, Think Tank II participants, Think Tank III participants, Think Tank IV participants, Think Tank V participants, Think Tank VI participants, Think Tank VII participants, Think Tank VIII participants, Think Tank IX participants, Think Tank X participants, Think Tank XI participants , Think Tank XII participants, Think Tank XIII participants , Think Tank XIV participants, Think Tank XV participants, Think Tank XVI participants, Think Tank XVII Participants.

All reviewers, who devote their time enabling BEST EN to double blind review all submissions to the annual Think Tanks: Think Tank I reviewers, Think Tank II reviewers, Think Tank III reviewers, Think Tank IV reviewers, Think Tank V reviewers, Think Tank VI reviewers, Think Tank VII reviewers, Think Tank VIII reviewers, Think Tank IX reviewers, Think Tank X reviewers, Think Tank XI reviewers, Think Tank XII reviewers, Think Tank XIII reviewers, Think Tank XIV reviewers, Think Tnak XV Reviewers, Think Tank XVI Reviewers, Think Tank XVII Reviewers.

All former Think Tank hosts, who have made each Think Tank possible:

  • Think Tank II: Pauline Sheldon PhD, University of Hawaii, USA
  • Think Tank III: INCAE, Costa Rica
  • Think Tank IV: Janne J. Liburd PhD, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  • Think Tank V: Carolyn Hayle, University of the West Indies, Jamaica
  • Think Tank VI: Lluís Mundet Cerdan PhD, University of Girona, Spain
  • Think Tank VII: Claudia Jurowski PhD, Northern Arizona University, USA
  • Think Tank VIII: Turgut Var PhD, Izmir University of Economics, Turkey
  • Think Tank IX: Gianna Moscardo PhD and Pierre Benckendorff PhD, James Cook University, Singapore
  • Think Tank X: Dagmar Lund-Durlacher PhD, MODUL University Vienna, Austria
  • Think Tank XI: Elizabeth Barber, Temple University, USA
  • Think Tank XII: Frederic Dimanche PhD, SKEMA Business School, France
  • Think Tank XIII: Perry Hobson PhD, Taylor's University, Malaysia
  • Think Tank XIV: Tanja Mihalič PhD, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Think Tank XV: Felicite Fairer-Wessels, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Think Tank XVI: Wolfgang Strasdas, University for Sustainable Development, Berlin-Eberswalde

All former Executive Committee and Advisory Board members, who have devoted years of their professional life to the development of BEST EN:

  • Anja Hergesell, 2004-2017
  • Deborah Edwards PhD, University of Technology, Sydney, 2006-2016
  • Janne Liburd PhD, University of Southern Denmark, 2003-2015
  • John Tribe PhD, University of Surrey, UK 2006-2014
  • Jack Carlsen PhD, Curtin University, Australia 2009
  • Dianne Dredge PhD, Southern Cross University, Australia 2010-2011
  • Claudia Jurowski PhD, Northern Arizona University, Australia 2003-2009
  • Kristen Lamoureux, George Washington University, USA 2003-2005
  • Laura Lawton PhD, Griffith University, USA 2005-2006
  • Patt Manheim PhD, Johnson & Wales University, USA 2003-2005
  • Ivo Martinac PhD, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden 2005-2006
  • Graham Miller PhD, University of Surrey, UK 2006-2009
  • Abraham Pizam PhD, University of Central Florida, USA 2000-2003
  • Michael Seltzer, The Conference Board, USA 2000-2003
  • Ginger Smith PhD, George Washington University, USA 2000-2003

If you have not been involved with BEST EN so far but would like to learn more or join our collaborative network, just become a member of the BEST EN LinkedIn group or keep up with our news by subscribingto BEST EN below.

Join BEST EN LinkedIn